Afternoon at the Botanical Gardens, Part 1

On a side note, totally unrelated to the rest of this post, I have a beautiful new niece as of about 10:30am today! She is beautiful and I can’t wait to go visit her again after mom, dad and big brother have had some bonding time with this precious new addition!

____________________________________________________

I took a ton of pictures during the hours we spent wandering around the Atlanta Botanical Gardens, so I’m splitting this update into two parts.

I was very excited to see the new Canopy Walk project that was recently opened.

I was a bit disappointed with the scale. After reading about the cost, time invested, and sacrifices made to build it, I expected a little more. You can see almost the entire thing in the picture above. What was there was neat though.

After checking that out, we took Mellie to the children’s garden.

Munchkin isn’t really old enough to play in the fountain yet, but next summer, if not the end of this one, I think she’s going to love it.

Rounding the corner beyond the fountain, we ran into one of the elder Mellie’s (Munchkin’s great-grandmother). What are the chances?

After a quick visit, we continued on through the garden which was particularly full of young life that day.

Not long after the above photo was taken, Mellie was ready for her afternoon nap, and spent most of the rest of the visit passed out on my chest in her carrier.

With a sleeping baby, we headed out of the children’s garden and towards the conservatory, taking the scenic route. First stop, a small formal garden.

Second, the Japanese garden.

Then the rose garden.

Then the rock garden.

And then there was a visit to one of my favorite places, the conservatory and orchid center. To be continued….

2 responses to this post.

  1. Aw congratulations on your niece.

    Those pictures are beautiful, I can’t wait to see more. I need to take a trip to see our botanical gardens here in Hamilton. I haven’t been since I was little.

    🙂

    Reply

  2. I love the gardens here. I really wanted to have my wedding there. It’s always been one of my favorite places, and I find a ton of inspiration in the things they do there.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

